I still capture. Thank you.

January 7, 2013 § 1 Comment

Don’t shoot what it looks like. Shoot what it feels like.
-David Alan Harvey 

My epiphanies come in images and visuals.  In another life, I create moving pictures to evoke emotion.  Being a cinematographer is still one of my only-kind-of-secret dreams.  There is something about great film.

The non-moving pictures, though, are where I find my joy in this season.  And, even after a completely hectic and threatening to overwhelm me Fall, I still love it.  I love capturing the light.  There is something magical about capturing someone’s beauty, too, that I can’t quite give a voice.  It is not something that can be put to words, I don’t think.  I think, maybe, it is as Mr. Harvey says.  It is something felt.

In the gallery below are my favorite 50(ish) images of the year.
Not because they are technically amazing or showcase any sort of talent I may possess.
But, because when I look at them, they make me feel.
I hope you find something you love in here.  To get started, just click on one image and use the arrows to slideshow your way through.


From the beginning with my very first couple, the Johnson’s, I hope you’ve all felt appreciated.  You really do bring ever-increasing joy.  Images give worth to the feet that are planted on both sides of the lens.

Additionally, my end-of-session tradition still holds strong.  At the end of the session, even if it’s one we’re doing for funsies, we pick an emotion or a situation, face the camera, and make a facial reaction to what we picked.  I’ve included a few of my favorites because they are just hilarious.  You all are some of the most animated people ever.

If 2012 was any indication, watch out, 2013!
Thank you for joining in the journey.
I’m glad you’re here.

In Love,

amaris

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ One Response to I still capture. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading I still capture. Thank you. at all things new.

meta

