Love Wins.

October 2, 2012 § 1 Comment

Part 2 of this blog post.  Because redemption comes in the morning.

I root for the underdog.

In everything except Cowboys football, I will always fight for the little guy.  And, when it comes to those experiencing homelessness, it’s not any different.  At 18, I worked with those fighting it for the first time while living in Canada.  Streets are frigid and unforgiving.  And when you stop for a minute, and figure out that everyone has a story, you also learn that you live three bad decisions away from their very same position.  It makes the whole thing daunting.  Scary.  Intimidating.  Real.

Then, just like that, a call goes out over social media to help with a wedding.  Not just any wedding.  Held in Moore Square on Saturday, September 22nd, a radiant couple, who pour generosity out on those in need, tied the knot.  Hank & Sandra Chatten said vows of promise amidst a beautiful community and capturing it was my absolute joy.

Love Wins Ministries gives back a lot of good to those in Raleigh who might need some help.  Hank and Sandra are involved after being helped out of hardship themselves.  It’s a gorgeous story of redemption.  I beamed through most of the day (camera hiccups and all).  Their children are hilarious and gorgeous and their family absolutely blessed my soul.  Sometimes, it’s easy to get wrapped up in how insufficient we feel at tackling the problems some face every day.  Events like this remind me to keep truckin’; to ask for help when I need it; and to show Love in whatever way I can.

This time, I was able to give it away by capturing light in my box.
And the light reminded me that good things happen in spite of overwhelming circumstances.

Hope still exists.
Love still wins.

Tagged: , , , ,

§ One Response to Love Wins.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Love Wins. at all things new.

meta

