Cheater, cheater, pumpkin eater.

July 23, 2012 § Leave a comment

Yeah, you read it right.  I cheated.

For the record, it was only kiiiinda my fault. 🙂  It was mostly Luke’s fault.
Ashley, and she ain’t the only one, has referred to Luke as the male version of myself.  Basically true.  You know how there are people in your life that you can just be your hair-down no-holds-barred keep-it-real self with?  Luke is that for me.  There is zero judgement about things I say and he even thinks I’m pretty hilarious (shhh, don’t tell him I’m just weird).  So, when he tweeted asking for dinner company on a long long day after a weekend where I had no. extrovert. activity whatsoever, I practically begged to go.  And we had four hours of absolute ridiculousness starting at Dos Taquitos.
Latino food will be the death of me, I am almost positive.

My own bowl of chips, some addictive salsa, two steak tacos, and one giant margarita later, I really just wanted to walk around the block because I was in a bit of pain.
It was SO worth it.

However, it definitely made it easier to sneak in little cheats the rest of the week and two things happened.  No, no, I lied.  Three things happened.
A) When I went to weigh myself on Saturday, I was only one pound down.  Still progress, but not the massive loss of the week before.
2) My psoriasis has gone into hyperdrive with the return of gluten.  Especially around my ears, the scales are more intense and twice as mad.  Pinche flares.
iii) My acid reflux returned the morning after Mexican.  It basically comes back after I eat anything greasy or fried or alcohol or is a processed carbohydrate.  Right.  Sooooo, after anything fun.

The long week took a toll on my workout schedule, too and I did not do anything extracurricular for seven straight days.  I was pretty ticked at myself, not gonna lie, but not because of the guilt.  I was frustrated with myself for not pushing through.  At the end of the day, if something is going to change, I have to be the one to initiate and maintain the change.  Otherwise, what the heck am I doing?

I took a step back and reevaluated.  I am a girl who thrives with structure.  So, let’s institute some.
Mondays are now reserved for yoga.  Wednesdays will be weights (or CrossFit once I kick that in).  Tuesdays, Fridays, and Saturdays are run days with Saturdays being swim days, too.  Thursday is a rest day as I am not counting salsa dancing as part of all of this and Sundays are completely off.  If you thrive in structure, I encourage you to set it up!

Lastly, an apology to the women who have asked questions and tweeted and texted.  For those of you paying attention, it’s been two whole weeks since I updated.  Because I don’t know what happened this week, but it plowed me over like a freight train.  We move this coming Thursday.
Sidebar: Please come over.  We must unpack quickly, the new house is GORGEOUS, and I am always overjoyed to hug you.  Okay, end of sidebar, thanks for hanging in there.
In order to show Love to a girl who needs it, I packed up all my crap and am house-hopping until then (I was at Ashley’s).  Then there’s work, people are broken and take their lives out on others, the car died, my MacBook, one. thing. after. another.

Some weeks, life just keeps comin’ at you.  But, as a dear friend has said, it ain’t how hard you hit; it’s about how hard you can get hit, and keep moving forward.
Yeah, he may have stolen that quote from Rocky.
Whatever, it’s exactly right.

To end on a bright note, the fantastical Cynthia Viola took this last week.  Simply reaffirming my belief that photos bring worth to a person.  The ones I’ve seen have certainly brightened my week.  Thank you, Cynthia!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Cheater, cheater, pumpkin eater. at all things new.

meta

