Prague Speed Bump #idontevenknow (But, it’s a doozy).

November 28, 2011 § 4 Comments

Three in the morning and I’m sitting here trying to figure out how to put this thing together.  Last week, quite a few of you got an idea of where things are at with me getting to Prague.  In case you only kind of know what’s going on, a quick recap.

A mere 55 days from today, I have the chance to study abroad in Prague, Czech Republic.  A thousand little details have been attended to and letters written asking for permission and i’s dotted and t’s crossed.  Everything appeared in order for me to hop across the pond to spend four months with no rent, no major bills, no business.  A very important chance to work with some amazing photographers in a foreign environment where the only thing asked of me is to attend classes and take beautiful photos.  Improve my craft and love others and run.  Oh, I already drool over the chance to run on a medieval cobblestone street.

But, out of the $15,000 I need to go, my loans and cash fall short by approximately $3000USD.  As I’m unable to take out a private loan, there are other ways to earn it on the table.  Yeah.  Oof.  Bottom line, by December 13th, as my Momma says, I have to call the ball.  By this date, I must have $3000 in pledges, payments (or airline points!!) or my trip will be cancelled.  As I told someone earlier today, it’s not like I won’t have anything to do if I stay.
However, God willing, I would really really really really like to go.
Like, really really.

As of this moment, I have approximately $300 pledged.  Before I’ve even come to you, I’m 10% there.  Hopeful, hopeful, hopeful.
So, here’s the skinny, Minnie, on ways I’m hoping to come up with the fundage.

The 411
Mini-Sessions & Full Sessions
Ongoing by appointment
If you need photos, for just about anything, I’m willing.  As long as I don’t have another commitment at your requested time.
Feel free to contact me: amaris@amarishames.com

Portraits with Santa!
Sunday, December 11th, 2011
1-4pm
Come enjoy some sweet treats, cider, & visit with Santa!  Skip the lines and the mayhem of the mall.
$15 includes an 8×10 and JPG file
More info here 

Come buy my stuff!
Sunday, December 18th, 2011
1-5pm
Where am I supposed to put all my things for five months?  Come get a hug, a little wine, and peruse my apartment for some things!
More info here 

The Big 3-0
Right as 2012 ’rounds the corner, my 20’s come to an end.  Please, no graves or black balloons or prank funeral home calls. 🙂  You’re more than welcome to use this as an excuse to help me go.

In a blog post last week, I told you of a friend who said folks believed in me.
Just a few days ago, another girl sat at Raleigh Times Bar and asked how I managed to make this a business.
“Do you advertise?”, she asked.  “This economy sucks.”
“Nope, at this moment, I do not advertise.  All of my work has been word of mouth.”
The fact that this statement is true continues to blow me away.  But, I know it’s true because so many of you believe in me.
My gratitude for all of your beautiful faces cannot be properly expressed in a blog post.  (Why do you think I hug you so much?)

If you have suggestions, comments, or other crazy ideas for fundraising, I love chatting with you.  Don’t hesitate to get in touch.

Love, Lurv, Lurb,
amaris

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 4 Responses to Prague Speed Bump #idontevenknow (But, it’s a doozy).

  • Jason Vana says:

    I don’t know if I’ll be able to give anything financially (money’s a bit tight, or kinda tight, or really suffocatingly tight), but I will check and see what I can do. I love to support trips like this, especially when people are going to Czech! I know it’s not a mission trip, but at the same time, I know you will have an impact on others there for Christ – so in a way, it is. If nothing else, I might have some mileage points I can send your way.

  • Wish I could financially help you go, but I’ll send prayers and unicorn fairy dust your way. Love you girl!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Prague Speed Bump #idontevenknow (But, it’s a doozy). at all things new.

meta

