Being a big girl. (Sometimes sucks)

October 22, 2011 § Leave a comment

Chances are, if you’ve known me longer than like, 2 days, you’ve met my great friend, Daniel.  Boy’s been around longer than almost anyone else and it seems no matter who I’m talking to, if I mention him, they go “Daniel!  How is he?  Tell him I said hey!”.  It happens this way because he’s rather fantastical.  Earlier this week, he upped the ante.

For Little Miss Never-Has-Major-Dental-Issues broke a tooth over the summer and the result was a root canal.  Dear. sweet. Lord.  The procedure wasn’t the WORST thing that’s ever happened, but I wouldn’t say it’s what I would choose to do with my free time.  To have it done, I had to go to Charleston, where our family dentist of 16 years was willing to save me over a grand versus a dentist up here in Raleigh.  And I love those people!  As I checked out, all numb and drooling, the staff and I shared photos and stories and laughter.  Problem was, besides that whole Amaris doesn’t have a car thing, they could only do it on a Thursday morning.  Enter Daniel.

Wednesday evening we hit the road for my parents.  Stayed ’til Friday mornin’ and headed back.  In the middle of it, I had a conversation with Dad about how I could possibly pay for everything that I need to in order to go to Prague.  On top of it, I have a balance on a credit card from a previous relationship that just needs to be taken care of as soon as possible.  No, seriously.  Friday morning I awoke to an alert from Bank of America (<—you should bank with them.  F’realz.) about a charge that really shouldn’t have happened ever.

48 hours of a whole lot of being an adult.

After the procedure, we walked around downtown for a bit.  Sunshine improves everything.  Before the money chat, we got some sand between our toes in the middle of sunset.  On the way home, there was a stop at Dairy Queen.  Overall, on a trip that could have been no fun whatsoever, I am grateful such a great friend came along with to make it all bearable.

Riding around in his supamazing car certainly didn’t hurt, either.
Who needs anyone else when your friends are like this?
Thankful.  I am.

 

 

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Being a big girl. (Sometimes sucks) at all things new.

meta

