I think she’s dead, Jim.

May 10, 2011 § Leave a comment

Oh, Marlaine.
I say that with even more exasperation than when I go “Oh, Karrrrrl”.  My friend Karl is notorious for not quite knowing when to turn his filter off, resulting in flailing arms and loud noises and yelling when the word “colonoscopy” escapes his lips.  Things have drastically improved since Mary became a part of his life, however.  While we love Karl like a lot, we are very grateful for Mary.

But, Marlene, I don’t even know what to do about this child.  It looks like I might have to give her up.  Actually, it’s very much looking like I will give her up.

Just a little bit ago, the Gillikin’s and the Johnson’s descended on my little home to see if they could figure out what was causing her to overheat.  After pumping her full of water, and poking around, and finally cranking her up (where she overheated within ten or so minutes just sitting there) we were formulating a plan.  And a backup plan.  And then, Ralph noticed the puddle I had mentioned before but had not been evident.
“Oh, that’s not good.”

I don’t know about you, but when an mechanic for the armed forces utters a phrase like that, I pay attention.  I mean, these guys have hours upon hours with all kinds of machinery to just put things together and go “Let’s see what that’ll do!!!”.  They’ve got tons of experience and knowledge and can jerry-rig just about anything.  (Ask me about my friend Zach doing body work with F14 tape.  True story.)

After a bit more poking around, it’ll take someone disassembling the area above the puddle to see what’s creating the puddle.  And that is mated to my transmission, so that might have to come apart, too.  Maybe.
Lots of times the word “Maybe” was used.

In the long run, it’s just not worth it to do all this work only to then figure out that I need an additional thousand dollars or so to continue to make it work.
I do not have the time, energy, money, or patience for all that mess.

Alas, if you need 4 brand spankin’ new 15″ tires, just holler.
I’m gonna go treat my sadness with a chocolate milkshake.

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading I think she’s dead, Jim. at all things new.

meta

