A grand adventure is about to begin. -Winnie the Pooh

October 29, 2010 § 2 Comments

 

Photo by Edgar Barany

 

Warning:  A bit wordy.  Totally worth it.

Often, upon meeting folks in real life that only know me through social media, I get the question “What is up with the title of your blog?  Is that like, Russian, or something?”

It is, indeed, Russian…or something.  The words “Muj zivot” actually mean “My life” in another Slavic language: Czech.

All of this has been a rather complicated process, that I won’t believe is actually happening until I am standing in the middle of Old Towne Square, in the middle of Prague. Yep, that’s right.  Prague, capital of the Czech Republic.  However, a lot of things have been happening and progressing that have left me not only skipping & frolicking out of meetings on NC State’s campus (I get stares…I’m okay with it), but with enough sense of freedom to start talking about it.

Elisabeth Elliot has encouraged me, through her words on a page, to remain silent about the things I feel strongest about.  Directions that I often have a hard time following.  Hi, have we met?  I’m an extrovert.  My favorite color is cherry red and I think hippos are adoreable and would you like to go grab real Italian food sometime?  Bring a friend!  We’ll gab all night long.
So, it has proven difficult to keep something this exciting under wraps.

God knows what He is doing and meeting after meeting I have met with the various faculty members required and in each step there has been favor.  Favor that, judging by my college transcript, I do not deserve whatsoever.  And yet, step after step has been one long beautiful walk.  A walk that, with a lot of prayer, a lot of saving, a little bit of groveling, and a LOT of peanut butter sandwiches, will place me as a resident of Prague, Czech Republic for approximately five months in the first half of 2012.  My purpose will be to participate in a Digital Photography Studio within the College of Design at NC State’s Prague campus (seriously) in one of the most beautiful cities in the world.

The whole thing leaves me with tons of “What If’s” and “What about’s” and “How’s THAT gonna work??”.  What about my ministries stateside, and my community group, and the people I love so dearly, and the family at Vintage21 that I am so so fond of?  What if I meet someone?  What if I get taken to dinner by a nice man and then I wind up halfway across the world?  When, exactly, do you tell a man pursuing you that you’re going halfway across the world?  Do you spill the beans at dinner…leave a post-it on his car…write it in whipped cream on his brownie?

How am I going to pay for it?
How will I upgrade my gear before I go?
I must be home by Mother’s Day…if I miss another Mother’s Day in some land far far away, Momma’s gonna hurt me.

Most of you Raleigh folk don’t really understand that, before 2006, I had this whole other life.  I lived in Canada for two years, traveling every week it seemed.  I got pulled there by a program I heard of while I was in western Africa: Youth With A Mission.  Beautiful people, who are still holding my BFF Rachel hostage.  (Not really, she’s not hostage.  She’s just permanently in Thailand.)  While living in Canada, we went on outreach for a month(ish) to an area of the former Yugoslavia known as Macedonia.  Република Македонија breezed right on through the doors of my heart and had a seat.  Made himself quite comfortable in one of those lounge chairs like Frasier’s dad uses.  Though I have traveled to many places, there is something distinctly special about eastern Europe.  It’s as if I had been created for it.

Which only magnifies my excitement for this opportunity.
And, within days of my return, I will wear a red dress, under a red robe, and celebrate Momma’s Day as I receive my Bachelor’s of Arts in Anthropology.

Let’s get this party started, shall we?

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to A grand adventure is about to begin. -Winnie the Pooh

  • Sarah says:

    I WILL come visit. Prague is one of the most beautiful cities on earth. What an amazing opportunity for you!

    • beautifulflaw says:

      Thank you, miss ma’am! You, really, seriously, must come visit. And we should try to see each other more often while we still have a chance! 🙂

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading A grand adventure is about to begin. -Winnie the Pooh at all things new.

meta

