Real mail makes me happy.

September 14, 2010 § Leave a comment

If you’ve been around here long enough, you may remember me hanging out with some rather awesome folk a few months back.  The Parish clan quasi-officially adopted me after I spent a few days with them celebrating their son (and my friend) Rob.  Missed it?  Well, you’re more than welcome to read about it here.  It was a mostly hot mess of a weekend for reasons I’ve vowed not to publish on the interwebs.  Thankfully, they’re not only a fun family, but a merciful one.  Meals & beers sneakily paid for, long walks & talks, tons of hugs, and the LAUGHTER.  These people are fantastic.

I’ve gotten to see a few of them since (I mean, they are in Washington state after all) and look forward to hugging their necks when I go first of the year.  In the meantime, Momma Linda decided to send me real mail.  And y’all, I don’t know if you know, but real mail might be my most favorite thing ever.  Especially unique real mail.  Fun postcards (double bonus if they have fun stamps) and PACKAGES. Oh, gosh, packages.  I have a certain Canadian that ships me fun size Canadian chocolate bars every once in a while and they make my month!  Does anyone else have such a love affair with real mail?

I didn’t really know what was coming or when.  She had just asked for my address. Lo & behold, I come home to this:

During her visit in the spring, Linda & I had shared a room in a couple of different places and discovered that we both have psoriasis.  It attacks our ears and scalps and elbows and injured areas.  Sharing that with someone connects you on a level I just can’t put in to words.  Then, on our last night, I notice this beautiful old Bible in the living room.  Turns out, we share a love of old Scripture as well.

She decided to hunt one down, just for me.  And somewhere in the great state of Washington, found this beauty, dated to the late 18th or early 19th century.  The inside cover is scrawled on with reminders of how to love, scripture, and some things I can’t read.

The delicacy of this causes me to ahh and gasp while holding it.  I almost forget to breathe, lest I damage it in some way.  But, still well-bound it is and I love having it by my bedside, just asking me to pick it up and discover something amongst its pages.  The way I think God desires us to always feel about His word.  In awe, curious, longing.  How thankful I am for a beautiful woman that thought enough of me to send me this little piece of encouragement.

Tagged: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Real mail makes me happy. at all things new.

meta

