Potentially the beginnings of “Serious Monday”. Just hang in there.

May 11, 2010 § 2 Comments

There’s a scene, in one of the BEST movies, that many of my favorite women reenact when frustrated. The movie is The Emperor’s New Groove and the scene is click here and fast forward to 3:22 oh come on just do it. And essentially, does a much better job of wrapping up how I’ve felt today more than anything.

My frustration is this: Where are the men?  Not guys, not boys, not “dudes”, but the men. The defenders of freedom, the beautiful souls that become amazing fathers, the respectful, guarding, and strong ones?
Do they not know their role?  Do they not know the weight they carry?  Can they really not understand how much we women respond to their actions?
Oh no, I’ve up and decided to try and bring sumin’ all SERIOUS up in cherr.

I’m wary to get on a soapbox.  For we are all broken.  I’ll be the first to tell you I am not reMOTEly perfect.  That’s most of the beauty!  We don’t gotta be all tryna dot all our i’s and cross all our t’s.  If we want, we can color outside the lines.  Some of us don’t even color on the page.  Rough around the edges is human nature.  It’s how I like it.  And, if you know me in person, it might surprise you that I believe certain things about the roles of men and women.  You might even be tempted to label me a <gasp> CONSERVATIVE.  It’s true, when I get riled up, my southern accent kicks in somethin’ fierce.  That probably doesn’t help the labeling situation.

However, labels notwithstanding, finding the  balance between giving a damn and setting a boundary line is a tricky one.  Once the boundary line gets set, why is it so hard to respect it?  Because we are a depraved people.  We screw up.  We have “Jesus-sized holes” in our hearts.

All of THIS is the reason I go silent.  Is the reason I don’t talk to you.  And, if I’m being honest, it’s the reason I run.
Running helps.

If you are a man, boy, dude, whatever, you should know that you are very much on the hearts and minds of us women.  We plead to Jesus on your behalf so that you might know Him better.  We long for you to be intentional, respectful, and compassionate.  Be encouraged and take heart.  For He knows you and loves you far greater than we ever could.

For we serve the same God that parted the Red Sea.  We serve the same God that blinded Paul.  We serve the same God that turned one hundred and eighty GALLONS of water in to wine for a wedding feast.  We serve the same God that provided for the Israelites in the desert.  All so that He may be glorified.


Tagged: , , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Potentially the beginnings of “Serious Monday”. Just hang in there.

  • Justin says:

    Without even clicking on the link, I knew exactly which scene that was. Most excellent movie.

  • Steve says:

    You should help out the men by encouraging them when they fail to be men. To be honest I’ve been wondering where the women are lately.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Potentially the beginnings of “Serious Monday”. Just hang in there. at all things new.

meta

